Commonwealth, also called Commonwealth of Nations, formerly (1931–49) British Commonwealth of Nations, a free association of sovereign states comprising the United Kingdom and a number of its former dependencies who have chosen to maintain ties of friendship and practical cooperation and who acknowledge the British monarch as symbolic head of their association. In 1965 the Commonwealth Secretariat was established in London to organize and coordinate Commonwealth activities.

Members of the Commonwealth
Country Date of Commonwealth Membership
United Kingdom 1931
Canada 1931
Australia 1931
New Zealand 1931
South Africa 1931 (left in 1961; rejoined 1994)
India 1947
Pakistan 1947 (left in 1972; rejoined 1989)
Sri Lanka (formerly Ceylon) 1948
Ghana 1957
Malaysia (formerly Malaya) 1957
Nigeria 1960
Cyprus 1961
Sierra Leone 1961
Tanzania 1961 (Tanganyika in 1961; Tanzania in 1964 upon union with Zanzibar [member 1963])
Jamaica 1962
Trinidad and Tobago 1962
Uganda 1962
Kenya 1963
Malawi 1964
Malta 1964
Zambia 1964
The Gambia 1965 (left in 2013; rejoined 2018)
Singapore 1965
Guyana 1966
Botswana 1966
Lesotho 1966
Barbados 1966
Mauritius 1968
Nauru 1968 (joined as a special member; full member since 1999)
Swaziland 1968
Tonga 1970
Samoa (formerly Western Samoa) 1970
Fiji 1971 (left in 1987; rejoined 1997)
Bangladesh 1972
The Bahamas 1973
Grenada 1974
Papua New Guinea 1975
Seychelles 1976
Solomon Islands 1978
Tuvalu 1978 (joined as a special member; full member since 2000)
Dominica 1978
Kiribati 1979
Saint Lucia 1979
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 1979 (joined as a special member; full member since 1985)
Vanuatu 1980
Belize 1981
Antigua and Barbuda 1981
Maldives 1982 (joined as special member; full member since 1985)
Saint Kitts and Nevis 1983
Brunei 1984
Namibia 1990
Cameroon 1995
Mozambique 1995
Rwanda 2009

Historically, the Commonwealth was an evolutionary outgrowth of the British Empire. The traditional British policy of allowing considerable self-government in its colonies led to the existence by the 19th century of several dependent states that were populated to a significant degree by Europeans accustomed to forms of parliamentary rule and that possessed large measures of sovereignty. By 1931 they were recognized as having a special status within the empire by the Statute of Westminster, which referred specifically to a “British Commonwealth of Nations.” The rapid growth of nationalism in other parts of the empire from the 1920s produced a long series of grants of independence, beginning with that to India in 1947, and required a redefinition of the Commonwealth. In 1947 India and Pakistan became members of the Commonwealth, the first with chiefly non-European populations. In 1948 Burma (Myanmar) became independent and rejected membership. In 1949 India announced its intention to become a republic, which would have required its withdrawal from the Commonwealth under the existing rules, but at a meeting of Commonwealth heads of government in London in April 1949 it was agreed that India could continue its membership if it accepted the British crown as only “the symbol of the free association” of Commonwealth members. That declaration was the first to drop the adjective British, and thereafter the official name of the organization became the Commonwealth of Nations, or simply the Commonwealth. The Commonwealth was also beset by other difficulties, some members opting to withdraw from the organization, as did Ireland (1949), South Africa (1961), and Pakistan (1972), though both South Africa and Pakistan eventually rejoined (the former in 1994 and the latter in 1989). Commonwealth membership grew dramatically in the second half of the 20th century as former dependencies attained sovereignty. Most of the dependent states granted independence chose Commonwealth membership, and the organization has even grown to include Mozambique (joined 1995), which was the first country granted entry that was never part of the British Empire or under the control of any member.

The Commonwealth differs from other international bodies. It has no formal constitution or bylaws. The members have no legal or formal obligation to one another; they are held together by shared traditions, institutions, and experiences as well as by economic self-interest. Commonwealth action is based upon consultation between members, which is conducted through correspondence and through conversations in meetings. Each member country sends an emissary, called a high commissioner, to the capitals of the other members. A Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting is held every two years. At the meeting in Singapore in 1971, members adopted a declaration that restated the Commonwealth’s voluntary and cooperative nature and committed the organization to promote international peace, fighting racism, opposing colonial domination, and reducing inequities in wealth. This declaration was echoed at the meeting in Harare, Zimbabwe, in 1991, when leaders further committed the organization to human rights and democracy.

Britain has huge overseas investments, both government and private, in the Commonwealth. When Britain joined the European Economic Community (later succeeded by the European Union [EU]) in 1973, the trade privileges of member countries began to be reduced. Now Commonwealth members have trade agreements with the EU. Many of the exports of Commonwealth countries go to other member countries. In 1996 the Commonwealth Africa Investment Fund was established to increase investment in that continent. There are also significant educational links between members, as many British teachers travel overseas and many students from Commonwealth members study in Britain. Other cultural links include the Commonwealth Games, a sporting competition held every four years.

In addition to independent members, the Commonwealth also comprises dependent territories, which are formally governed by the United Kingdom, Australia, or New Zealand. Most of the older dependencies are colonies. Dependencies include Anguilla, Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, the Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, and the Turks and Caicos Islands (United Kingdom); Christmas Island, Cocos Islands, the Coral Sea Islands, and Norfolk Island (Australia); and Niue and Tokelau (New Zealand). The United Kingdom has followed a policy of leading the dependencies toward self-government by creating territorial governments in them. These governments comprise a lawmaking body (often called the legislative council); an executive body (called the executive council), which with the governor is the executive authority; and an independent judiciary. At first government posts are appointive, but an increasing elected element is introduced, as constitutions are altered until elected officials are made wholly responsible for local affairs. After a colony achieves internal self-government, its legislature may apply to the British Parliament for complete independence. It then decides whether to remain in the Commonwealth.

Related posts

Belgian Congo



joe bodego

Clément Barbot


Sékou Touré