The Word - Media

Gloria Naylor

Gloria Naylor (1950-2016) was an American author known for her insightful and powerful works of fiction. She was born on January 25, 1950, in New York City and grew up in a predominantly African-American neighborhood in Queens. Naylor’s most famous novel is “The Women of Brewster Place” (1982), which tells the interconnected stories of seven African-American women living in a housing project. The novel explores themes of race, gender, and the struggles faced by African-American women in a society that marginalizes them. It received critical acclaim and won the National Book Award for First Novel in 1983.

Naylor’s other notable works include “Linden Hills” (1985), a novel that examines the impact of materialism on the African-American community, and “Mama Day” (1988), a story blending realism and magical realism set on a fictional island on the coast of Georgia. Her writing often delved into the complexities of African-American identity, community dynamics, and the intersectionality of race, class, and gender.

Throughout her career, Gloria Naylor was recognized for her literary contributions. She received numerous awards, including Guggenheim and National Endowment for the Arts fellowships. Her writing resonated with readers of all backgrounds and made significant contributions to African-American literature.

Gloria Naylor passed away on September 28, 2016, at the age of 66. Her literary works continue to be celebrated and studied for their exploration of the African-American experience and their nuanced portrayal of women’s lives.

Related posts

Paula Giddings

joe bodego

André Leon Talley

joe bodego

Bebe Moore Campbell


Pura Teresa Belpré y Nogueras

joe bodego