Civil Rights

The Louisiana Separate Car Act

The Louisiana Separate Car Act was a state law passed in 1890 in the state of Louisiana, United States. The law mandated racial segregation on trains by requiring separate railway cars for white and non-white passengers. It was one of several Jim Crow laws enacted in the post-Reconstruction era, which aimed to enforce racial segregation and discrimination in the Southern states.

Under the Louisiana Separate Car Act, railroads were required to provide “equal but separate accommodations” for white and non-white passengers. The law specified that separate cars for non-white passengers should be “equal in quality to those provided for white passengers.” However, the law was designed to enforce a strict racial hierarchy, with the intention of maintaining white supremacy and promoting racial segregation.

The Separate Car Act faced legal challenges, and one of the most significant cases related to this law was Plessy v. Ferguson (1896). In that case, Homer Plessy, a mixed-race man, deliberately violated the Separate Car Act by sitting in a “white-only” railroad car. His case eventually reached the United States Supreme Court, which upheld the constitutionality of the Louisiana law in a landmark decision.

The Supreme Court’s ruling in Plessy v. Ferguson established the “separate but equal” doctrine, which allowed for racial segregation as long as the separate facilities provided to different races were deemed equal in quality. This decision had far-reaching implications and effectively legitimized segregationist policies in the United States for several decades.

It was not until the landmark case of Brown v. Board of Education in 1954 that the “separate but equal” doctrine was overturned, declaring segregation in public schools unconstitutional. The ruling in Brown v. Board of Education marked a significant step towards dismantling racial segregation and challenging the legacy of Jim Crow laws, including the Louisiana Separate Car Act.

Related posts

Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC)

joe bodego

Hosea Williams


Harry Belafonte


C. Delores Tucker