Harlem Globetrotters

Harlem Globetrotters, a predominantly black professional U.S. basketball team that plays exhibition games all over the world, draws crowds as large as 75,000 to see the players’ spectacular ball handling and humorous antics.

The team was organized in Chicago in 1926 as the all-black Savoy Big Five. Sports promoter Abe Saperstein acquired the team soon after and owned it until his death in 1966. In January 1927 the team debuted in Hinckley, Ill., under the name New York Globetrotters. The name was changed in 1930 to Harlem Globetrotters to capitalize on the cultural notoriety of one of New York’s African American neighborhoods. The barnstorming team amassed an impressive record over the next decade and in 1939 participated in the first professional basketball championship, losing to the Harlem Rens in the final game. The next year the Globetrotters won the tournament.

Harlem Globetrotters Curly Neal left, and Meadowlark Lemon ham it in a 1977 game against a typically hapless opponent. Lemon, the “Clown Prince of Basketball” who spent 24 years with the barnstorming team, has died at the age of 83.

It was about this time that they first experimented with adding comedy to their games. Inman Jackson was the first to assume the role of “clown prince” on the team. As the National Basketball Association became racially integrated in the 1950s, the opportunities for competitive games on the barnstorming circuit dried up. As a result, the team made comedic entertainment its central focus. Some outstanding Globetrotters were Reece “Goose” Tatum, Marques Haynes, Clarence Wilson, “Meadowlark” Lemon, Wilt “the Stilt” Chamberlain, Herb “Geese” Ausbie, and Lynette Woodard, the first woman to play for the team.

Team manager Abe Saperstein trotted the globe with Wilt Chamberlain in 1958.

Mannie Jackson, a former player, purchased the team in 1993. In 2000 the team returned to competitive play with a series of exhibition games against top collegiate teams. In 2002 the team was enshrined in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Related posts

Gold and Glory Sweepstakes


Meadowlark Lemon


Valerie Brisco-Hooks


Robert Lee Elder